STATE OF NEVADA



Department of Conservation & Natural Resources

Joe Lombardo, Governor James Settelmeyer, Director Charles Donohue, Administrator

October 18, 2023

To: State Land Use Planning Advisory Council

From: Scott Carey, AICP, State Lands Planner

RE: Election of One Member to Serve on the SLUPAC Executive Council

The Executive Council (NRS 321.755) consists of four SLUPAC members and the Administrator of Nevada Division of State Lands. The Executive Council is charged with, upon request, resolving inconsistencies in land use plans between two or more adjacent or overlapping local governmental entities which cannot be resolved between them.

At the June 3, 2022 SLUPAC meeting, the Council appointed Sami Real (Clark County), Jim French (Humboldt County), Lorinda Wichman (Nye County), and Jim Barbee (Churchill County) to the Executive Council. At the February 3, 2023 meeting, the Council appointed Wilde Brough (Elko County) to fill the remainder of Jim French's term on the Executive Council. The appointments for the members of the Executive Council are for two-years with the current term expiring on June 3, 2024.

In August, staff was notified by Nye County that Lorinda Wichman was retiring from the county, and it will have a new representative on SLUPAC. In September, the Nye County Commission nominated Meghan Labadie, Administrative Technical Coordinator for the county's Nye County Natural Resources and Federal Facilities Department to be its representative on SLUPAC. Megan's replacement of Lorinda Wichman on SLUPAC leaves one vacancy on the Executive Council for a term ending on June 3, 2024.

NRS 321.755 (2) states that "To the extent practicable, the members selected to serve on the Executive Council must be representative of the various geographic areas of this State. Each member of the Executive Council shall serve for 2-year terms."

When Lorinda Wichman was appointed to the Executive Council two years, she was appointed by SLUPAC to provide geographic representation for Central Nevada (Lyon County, Mineral County, Esmeralda County, and Nye County) on the Executive Council.

Recommendation: Staff recommends that the Council appoint 1 new member from Central Nevada to serve on the Executive Council for the remainder of a term ending on June 3, 2024.